On learning.

I have a trait that I can’t directly trace to either parent.

I have a sick need to constantly learn.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it’s a bad thing necessarily…

Take my chosen career in EMS.   I knew before I was done with Basic school that I’d never be happy remaining a Basic when the possibility to advance was there.  For the record, I truly believe that the position of a Basic EMT, a GOOD Basic, is vital in the EMS system.  I could have remained an Basic and studied from those who know more than me and worked my ass off to become the best Basic I could be.  But would that satisfy me?  I didn’t think it would.  There was more to do, more ways that I could help.  More to learn.  I went against what everyone said (everyone except my Basic Instructor, oddly enough) and enrolled in Medic school.  I rocked at it.  I busted my butt every night… EVERY NIGHT.  I read and I read and I read.  I did extra research on topics that I didn’t feel were covered adequately in class or in the book or in the countless powerpoints provided by the instructor.  I was at the top of my class.  Literally.  Well, I was in the top two.  We kind of went back and forth.

And then there’s photography.  I will NEVER be a good enough photographer.  There’s too much to learn.  There’s too many ways to explore what I know already and improve on it.  I carry my camera around constantly taking pictures of everything from the precious (my children and family), to the completely inane.

It has earned me some strange looks from my neighbors.

“Fred?  Why in the hell is that girl across the street taking pictures of her boots on the front porch?”

“Hell, Ethel, I don’t know.”

~ by Just Me on October 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
